The Governing Board continues to support, challenge and verify the work of the Headteacher and the senior leadership team of the School in order to continually improve the educational provision at The Hurst.

Governing Board Remit
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its students, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent
Our Governors


Dr Hayden Atkinson - Chair of Governors

Appointed by GB Appointed 28 November 2021
Jayne McLaren  Headteacher Appointed by GB/board Appointed 1 January 2021
Professor Norman Godfrey Appointed by LA Appointed 13 January 2019
Rene Tonon Appointed by GB/board Appointed 17 October 2022
Sarah Hurst Appointed by GB/board Appointed 14 March 2022
Shona Jury Appointed by GB/board Appointed 26 January 2020
Iain London Elected by parents Appointed 21 September 2020
John Watson Appointed by GB/board Appointed 17 October 2022
Yasemin Brett Appointed by parents Appointed 30 October 2021
Mandy Larby (Clerk) Appointed by GB/board Appointed June 2021
Tracy Kent Appointed by GB/board Appointed 14 March 2022
Celest Warner Elected by school staff Appointed 9 November 2023
Christine Delve Appointed by GB/board Appointed 30 January 2023
David Tucker Appointed by GB/board Appointed 9 October 2023
Andrew Penfold Appointed by GB/board Appointed 29 January 2024
Claire Huyton Appointed by parents Appointed 20th May 2024

If you would like to contact the Governing Board, please email Clerk to the Governors, Mandy Larby at

Governor's Portal



Page Downloads Date  
The Hurst School Governor Attendance 2022 23 24th Jan 2024 Download
The Hurst School Governors Declaration of Interest 2023 24th Jan 2024 Download
The Hurst School Full Governing Board - June 2024 03rd Jul 2024 Download